Al-Arabiya:

… “Former Freedom House employee Sherif Mansour did return to Egypt and… was arrested upon his arrival” late Sunday, a State Department spokesman, Mark Toner, said…

 

“This case is extraordinary and it needs an extraordinary response,” the 32-year-old said, quoted by The Washington Post.

 

“They were hoping that if we all kept a low profile, it would fizzle away. But that’s not acceptable for me. This is a battle that should be fought.”

 

The Post said that another American, Robert Becker, 43, a former employee of the Washington-based National Democratic Institute, had chosen to stay in Cairo when the other Americans left and would also appear at Tuesday’s hearing.

 

“The whole idea of being safely ensconced in the United States while people who worked directly for me were on trial was unfathomable,” he told the U.S. daily recently. “I felt they were being abandoned and I wouldn’t have been able to live with myself.”