Unlike my former employer NDI, Freedom House continues to aggressively advocate for their employees who were convicted five months ago in Egypt’s NGO trial… for that advocacy, I thank them.

This new short film tells the heart-breaking impact this trial has had on our lives through the stories of Sameer Jarrah, Nancy Okail, and Mohamed Abdel Aziz. I first met Nancy and Mohamed in an Egyptian courtroom cage… they are two extraordinary Egyptians and I am proud to call them friends.

“I left my family suddenly overnight… left everything behind me… my children, I have three children. My younger child, who’s three years old… every time he sees a plane he asks his mother to tell the pilot to come down to take the plane to come and see me…” – Mohamed Abdel Aziz, convicted to two years of hard labour.

NGO trial, Cairo, March 8, 2012 (Mohamed Abd El Ghany/Courtesy Reuters).

NGO trial, Cairo, March 8, 2012 (Mohamed Abd El Ghany/Courtesy Reuters).

It is time for these convictions to be overturned so Sameer, Nancy and Mohamed can go home to their families.